Evansville Housing Authority

About Us

The Housing Authority of the City of Evansville was legally formed in 1942 but long before our official incorporation in the early 1930s discussions were being held in Evansville over housing the low income. As part of Franklin D Roosevelt’s Public Works Administration projects were started, Evansville was one of the 35 cities to receive a public housing project grant with the development of Lincoln Gardens in 1937.

We currently own and operate 904 public housing units and 1,906 housing choice vouchers. In addition to housing approximately 2,800 families, we operate several self sufficiency programs including Youthbuild through a grant from the Department of Labor and the Resident Vocational Training Program, a program developed by EHA to provide residents with training in areas.

We have moved from traditional public housing roots to more diverse housing programs including operating a Public Housing Homeownership Program and Leased Housing Homeownership Program.

For more information on our various properties and programs continue to enjoy our newly updated site

Thank you for your interest in EHA.

Board of Commissioners:

David G. Hatfield, Chairman
Daphne Robinson, Vice Chairman
Vanessa Brown, Commissioner
Richard Engbers, Commissioner
Glenda B. Hampton, Commissioner
Michael J. Szakaly, Commissioner
Mildred Thacker, Commissioner